C-EBPδ Deficiency Sensitizes Mice to Ionizing Radiation-Induced Hematopoietic and Intestinal InjuryReportar como inadecuado

C-EBPδ Deficiency Sensitizes Mice to Ionizing Radiation-Induced Hematopoietic and Intestinal Injury - Descarga este documento en PDF. Documentación en PDF para descargar gratis. Disponible también para leer online.

Knowledge of the mechanisms involved in the radiation response is critical for developing interventions to mitigate radiation-induced injury to normal tissues. Exposure to radiation leads to increased oxidative stress, DNA-damage, genomic instability and inflammation. The transcription factor CCAAT-enhancer binding protein delta Cebpd; C-EBPδ is implicated in regulation of these same processes, but its role in radiation response is not known. We investigated the role of C-EBPδ in radiation-induced hematopoietic and intestinal injury using a Cebpd knockout mouse model. Cebpd−-− mice showed increased lethality at 7.4 and 8.5 Gy total-body irradiation TBI, compared to Cebpd+-+ mice. Two weeks after a 6 Gy dose of TBI, Cebpd−-− mice showed decreased recovery of white blood cells, neutrophils, platelets, myeloid cells and bone marrow mononuclear cells, decreased colony-forming ability of bone marrow progenitor cells, and increased apoptosis of hematopoietic progenitor and stem cells compared to Cebpd+-+ controls. Cebpd−-− mice exhibited a significant dose-dependent decrease in intestinal crypt survival and in plasma citrulline levels compared to Cebpd+-+ mice after exposure to radiation. This was accompanied by significantly decreased expression of γ-H2AX in Cebpd−-− intestinal crypts and villi at 1 h post-TBI, increased mitotic index at 24 h post-TBI, and increase in apoptosis in intestinal crypts and stromal cells of Cebpd−-− compared to Cebpd+-+ mice at 4 h post-irradiation. This study uncovers a novel biological function for C-EBPδ in promoting the response to radiation-induced DNA-damage and in protecting hematopoietic and intestinal tissues from radiation-induced injury.

Autor: Snehalata A. Pawar , Lijian Shao , Jianhui Chang, Wenze Wang, Rupak Pathak, Xiaoyan Zhu, Junru Wang, Howard Hendrickson, Marjan B

Fuente: http://plos.srce.hr/


Documentos relacionados