Identification of new HIV-1 Gag-specific cytotoxic T lymphocyte responses in BALB-c miceReportar como inadecuado

Identification of new HIV-1 Gag-specific cytotoxic T lymphocyte responses in BALB-c mice - Descarga este documento en PDF. Documentación en PDF para descargar gratis. Disponible también para leer online.

Virology Journal

, 5:81

First Online: 14 July 2008Received: 27 May 2008Accepted: 14 July 2008


BackgroundAs HIV-specific cytotoxic T cells play a key role during acute and chronic HIV-1 infection in humans, the ability of potential anti-HIV vaccines to elicit strong, broad T cell responses is likely to be crucial. The HIV-1 Gag antigen is widely considered a relevant antigen for the development of an anti-HIV vaccine since it is one of the most conserved viral proteins and is also known to induce T cell responses. In the majority of studies reporting Gag-specific cellular immune responses induced by Gag-based vaccines, only a small number of Gag T cell epitopes were tested in preclinical mouse models, thus giving an incomplete picture of the numerous possible cellular immune responses against this antigen. As is, this partial knowledge of epitope-specific T cell responses directed to Gag will unavoidably result in a limited preclinical evaluation of Gag-based vaccines.

ResultsIn this study we identified new Gag CD8+ T cell epitopes in BALB-c mice vaccinated with the HIV-1 Gag antigen alone or in combination with the HIV-1 Tat protein, which was recently shown to broaden T cell responses directed to Gag. Specifically, we found that CTL responses to Gag may be directed to nine different CTL epitopes, and four of these were mapped as minimal CTL epitopes.

ConclusionThese newly identified CTL epitopes should be considered in the preclinical evaluation of T cell responses induced by Gag-based vaccines in mice.

Electronic supplementary materialThe online version of this article doi:10.1186-1743-422X-5-81 contains supplementary material, which is available to authorized users.

Download fulltext PDF

Autor: Silvia Cellini - Cinzia Fortini - Eleonora Gallerani - Federica Destro - Egidio Brocca Cofano - Antonella Caputo - Riccardo


Documentos relacionados