APOBEC3G targets human T-cell leukemia virus type 1Reportar como inadecuado

APOBEC3G targets human T-cell leukemia virus type 1 - Descarga este documento en PDF. Documentación en PDF para descargar gratis. Disponible también para leer online.


, 2:32

First Online: 19 May 2005Received: 21 April 2005Accepted: 19 May 2005


BackgroundApolipoprotein B mRNA-editing enzyme-catalytic polypeptide-like 3G APOBEC3G is a host cellular protein with a broad antiviral activity. It inhibits infectivitiy of a wide variety of retroviruses by deaminating deoxycytidine dC into deoxyuridine dU in newly synthesized minus strand DNA, resulting in G-to-A hypermutation of the viral plus strand DNA. To clarify the mechanism of its function, we have examined the antiviral activity of APOBEC3G on human T-cell leukemia virus type 1 HTLV-1, the first identified human retrovirus.

ResultsIn this study, we have demonstrated that overexpressed as well as endogenous APOBEC3G were incorporated into HTLV-1 virions and that APOBEC3G inhibited the infection of HTLV-1. Interestingly, several inactive mutants of APOBEC3G also inhibited HTLV-1 and no G-to-A hypermutation was induced by APOBEC3G in HTLV-1 genome. Furthermore, we introduced the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 HIV-1 vif gene into HTLV-1 producing cell line, MT-2, to antagonize APOBEC3G by reducing its intracellular expression and virion incorporation, which resulted in upregulation of the infectivity of produced viruses.

ConclusionAPOBEC3G is incorporated into HTLV-1 virions and inhibits the infection of HTLV-1 without exerting its cytidine deaminase activity. These results suggest that APOBEC3G might act on HTLV-1 through different mechanisms from that on HIV-1 and contribute to the unique features of HTLV-1 infection and transmission.

Electronic supplementary materialThe online version of this article doi:10.1186-1742-4690-2-32 contains supplementary material, which is available to authorized users.

Download fulltext PDF

Autor: Amane Sasada - Akifumi Takaori-Kondo - Kotaro Shirakawa - Masayuki Kobayashi - Aierkin Abudu - Masakatsu Hishizawa - Kazunor

Fuente: https://link.springer.com/

Documentos relacionados